A commemoration of those who are gone”: Christian Boltanski in conversation with Meinrad Maria Grewenig

Mr Boltanski, you have visited the Völklinger Hütte World Heritage Site several times. What were your impressions of this monument to industrial culture?

This unique place made a strong impression on me. There’s a feeling of incredible power; you can sense all the human beings who lived and worked in this industrial temple.

When Völklinger Hütte was at its zenith, there were more than 17,000 people working here each day. According to company records, up to 1,446 forced labourers worked at Völklinger Hütte between 1915 and 1917. During the Second World War, 12,393 forced labourers from twenty countries worked here. Mr Boltanski, what made you want to create a memorial to forced labourers in the heart of Völklinger Hütte, the sintering plant?

There are few remaining traces of the people who are now gone. I wanted to make sure – albeit in a collective rather than an individual way – that these people don’t fade into complete oblivion. I want visitors to feel moved when they find themselves in this industrial environment and sense the presence of all the people who worked here.

Thanks to our work on a major research project, we have managed to find out the names of the forced labourers employed at Völklinger Hütte and to determine the details of their working conditions. How does your installation enable visitors to engage with this research?

I think the most important element of my work at Völklinger Hütte is that the names are said over and over again, thereby bringing to life the people who are no longer here. It is a true commemoration of those who are gone.

Visitors to “Memorial to Forced Labourers”, your large installation at Völklinger Hütte, don’t simply stand back and look at it like a picture. Instead, they must go right into the middle of the installation. Does your work aim to help people experience art in a more conscious way?

I’ve always said that you shouldn’t stand in front of something, in front of an artwork. Instead, you should go inside it. This process of going inside a work becomes part of the work itself.

While you were walking around Völklinger Hütte, you rediscovered the workers’ lockers. What inspired your second major installation here?

Each worker’s locker is like an Egyptian tomb containing the little treasures that the workers wanted to keep safe: a photo of someone, a personal item. These lockers – which once belonged not just to forced labourers, but to ordinary workers too – are the workers’ hidden treasures. For me, it was important to talk not just about the forced labourers, but about everyone who lived here. As the ironworks is now closed and serves a different purpose, I wanted to preserve the memory of everyone who shaped this place. I see the words of former workers as precious things in this regard.

What are your hopes for your two large installations at the Völklinger Hütte World Heritage Site?

Working at places of remembrance is always exciting for me. I occasionally work at museums and white cubes, but I don’t cherish those places quite so much. When I discover a place full of history like Völklinger Hütte, I’m much more excited about the prospect of creating a kind of collage between the place and my work.


The unabridged version of the conversation between Christian Boltanski and Meinrad Maria Grewenig is published in the catalogue accompanying Boltanski’s installations at Völklinger Hütte.


Deutsche VersionVersion français


http://whc.unesco.org/en/list/687/http://www.ecsite.eu/?p=4239http://www.erih.net/nc/anchor-points/germany/detail.html?user_erihobjects_pi2[pointer]=0&user_erihobjects_pi2[mode]=1&user_erihobjects_pi2[showUid]=15320&user_erihobjects_pi2[country]=1&user_erihobjects_pi2[regionalroute]=0&user_erihobjects_pi2[anchorOnly]=1&user_erihobjects_pi2[membersOnly]=0

"Eine Feier der Vermissten" - Christian Boltanski im Gespräch mit Meinrad Maria Grewenig

Christian Boltanski, Sie haben mehrmals das Weltkulturerbe Völklinger Hütte besucht.  Wie haben Sie dieses Industriekulturdenkmal empfunden?

Dieser außergewöhnliche Ort hat mich sehr beeindruckt. Er ist von großer Stärke geprägt, man erfühlt die ganze Menschlichkeit, die in diesem Industrietempel gelebt und gearbeitet hat.

Zu Hochzeiten arbeiteten in der Völklinger Hütte über 17.000 Menschen am Tag. In den Jahren 1915 bis 1917 haben nach Angaben aus der Firmenchronik bis zu 1.446 Zwangsarbeiterinnen und Zwangsarbeiter in der Völklinger Hütte gearbeitet. Während des Zweiten Weltkrieges waren es 12.393 Zwangsarbeiterinnen und Zwangsarbeiter aus 20 Ländern in der Völklinger Hütte. Was reizte Sie, Christian Boltanski, daran, im „Herzen“ dieser Völklinger Hütte, der Sinteranlage, einen Erinnerungsort für die Zwangsarbeit zu gestalten?

Nichts ist mehr übrig geblieben von all den Menschen, die verschwunden sind. Ich wollte sie so weit wie möglich vor dem Vergessen bewahren, zumindest mehr auf kollektivere als individuelle Weise. Ich möchte, dass der Besucher von der Tatsache bewegt wird, sich gleichzeitig in diesem Industrieort zu finden und die Anwesenheit all derer zu spüren, die dort gearbeitet haben.

Inzwischen konnten wir in einem großen Forschungsprojekt alle Namen der Zwangsarbeiterinnen und Zwangsarbeiter auf der Völklinger Hütte ermitteln und die Umstände ihres Arbeitens beschreiben. Welchen Zugang ermöglicht Ihre Installation über diese Forschungsarbeiten hinaus?

Was wahrscheinlich am Wichtigsten bei meiner Arbeit in der Völklinger Hütte ist, dass die Namen gesagt und wiedergesagt werden, um jene lebendig zu machen, die nicht mehr hier sind. Es ist eine echte Feier der Vermissten.

Besucherinnen und Besucher erleben die große Installation "Erinnerungsort für die Zwangsarbeit" in der Völklinger Hütte von Christian Boltanski nicht nur indem sie diese wie ein großes Bild anschauen, sie müssen sich mitten hinein in diese Installation begeben. Ist es das Ziel Ihrer Arbeit Menschen zu bewussterem Erfahren zu verändern?

Ich sage immer, dass man nicht vor etwas stehen sollte, vor einem Kunstwerk, sondern dass man sich in das Innere dieses Werkes begeben sollte.  So dass das Sich-Hineinbegeben in dieses Werk zu einem Teil des Werkes wird.

Sie haben beim Rundgang durch die Völklinger Hütte unter anderem die Arbeiter-Spinde neu entdeckt. Was hat Sie zu der zweiten großen Installation in der Völklinger Hütte inspiriert?

Diese Schränke sind wie ägyptische Gräber von jedem Arbeiter. In ihnen befinden sich kleine Schätze, die jeder Arbeiter für sich aufbewahren wollte: ein Foto von jemandem, ein persönliches Stück. Diese Schränke sind die verborgenen Schätze einiger Arbeiter, und nicht nur für die Zwangsarbeiter, sondern auch für alle ehemaligen Arbeiter der Hütte. Es war sehr wichtig für mich, nicht nur über Zwangsarbeiter zu sprechen, sondern über all jene, die dort lebten und ich möchte, da dieser Ort jetzt geschlossen ist und seine Funktion geändert hat, die Erinnerung an alle behalten, die diesen Ort geprägt haben. Die Aussagen von den ehemaligen Arbeitern sind für mich wertvolle Worte.

Was erwarten Sie von den beiden großen Installationen im Weltkulturerbe Völklinger Hütte?

Es ist immer aufregend für mich, an Orten der Erinnerung zu arbeiten. Museen und White Cubes sind Orte, an denen ich manchmal arbeite, aber ich schätze es nicht so sehr. Sobald ich einen Ort voller Geschichte wie die Völklinger Hütte finde, ist es viel aufregender für mich, eine Art Collage zwischen diesem bestehenden Ort und meiner Arbeit zu schaffen.


Das ungekürzte Gespräch zwischen Christian Boltanski und Meinrad Maria Grewenig findet sich im Katalogbuch zu den Installationen von Christian Boltanski in der Völklinger Hütte


English VersionVersion français


http://whc.unesco.org/en/list/687/http://www.ecsite.eu/?p=4239http://www.erih.net/nc/de/ankerpunkte/deutschland/detail.html?user_erihobjects_pi2[pointer]=0&user_erihobjects_pi2[mode]=1&user_erihobjects_pi2[showUid]=15320&user_erihobjects_pi2[country]=1&user_erihobjects_pi2[regionalroute]=0&user_erihobjects_pi2[anchorOnly]=1&user_erihobjects_pi2[membersOnly]=0